One of Jackson's oldest dwellings, The Oaks is a Greek Revival-style cottage built about 1853. A Civil War survivor, the home with its original and period furnishings and the gardens invite visitors to step back in time and to learn about life for a middle-class family in mid-19th century Jackson. The Oaks is open for tours Tuesdays and Fridays from 10-3 and by appointment (601-353-9339 or email@example.com).
The Oaks was the home of early Jackson mayor James H. Boyd, his wife Eliza, their six children and numerous grandchildren. A Mississippi Landmark and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it is owned by the National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Mississippi and administered by The Oaks House Museum Corporation.
Arts and Culture